Risk Manager in Residence Program

Now in its 21st year, the program has been praised by both risk managers and universities as a rewarding educational experience and a chance to give back to the profession. The Foundation awards grants of up to $4,500 to college and universities to cover costs of a lecturing risk manager.

The Spencer Educational Foundation seeks risk managers that are members of the Risk and Insurance Management Society, Inc. and that have a minimum of 10 years risk management experience, in order to provide high quality, interesting speakers for the students and communities of the grant Universities. Missouri State University is honored to be the only university to have had a Risk Manager in Residence every year since the beginning of the program.

Listing of Risk Managers in Residence Missouri State University

Year Risk Manager
1997-98 Gail Sater
1998-99 Thomas G. Epper
1999-00 Daniel Sobczynski
2000-01 Chris Duncan - Delta Airlines
2001-02 Sanford Bragman-Tenet Healthcare Systems
2002-03 Charles Rizzo – E.W. Scripps
2003-04 Dan Kugler – Snap-On Tools
2004-05 Skip Neilson – Shell Oil Company
2005-06 Mary Daniels - American Agency System
2006-07 Jim Kasprzyk - McDonald's Corporation
2007-08 Janice Ochenkowski - Jones Lang LaSalle
2008-09 James Hughes - ConocoPhillips
2009-10 Douglas Borg - Duke University Health System
2010-11 Ann Barry -
2011-12 Laurence Jenchel - Sears Holding Corporation
2012-13 Jeffrey Vernor - Russell Investments

Patrick Hurley - Consolidated Edison


Shari Natovitz - Silverstein Properties


Tracy Hwang - Ebay/Uber Technologies


Kristy Coleman - Turner Broadcasting Systems, Inc.


Robert Nighan - Travelers

2018-19 Jeffrey Strege - Sysco